1993 to 1997

Closest Installation

Wright-Patterson AFB
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Advice needed

I have a 2001 XJ with the upcountry package bone stock. It has a D35 with the LS diff. Already has gas tank skid front (whatever it protects) skid and front/rear tow hooks. I plan to start building it after the first of the year. Planning on about 4.5"- 5" lift with 33"s, My question is, should the first improvement be to get rid of the D35? I am really new to offroading (never been on anything more treacherous than a bumpy gravel road or wet grass). It's not that I don't want to I have just heard all the horror stories about how weak this axle is so I have been too chicken to attempt any offroading with it for fear that it will leave me stranded.

Branch
    Army
    Status
    Served
    Served
    1989 to 2010

Closest Installation

Fort Knox
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I have been wheeling mine hard for a year now with 33's and the D35 and never had a problem. Everyone talks about how weak they are but i have never seen one break in person. I'm not replacing mine until it's broke. I always wheel with a group so don't have to worry about breaking and being stranded.

Bonified Redneck

Branch
    Army
    Status
    Serving
    Served
    2009 to Present

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I have not had any problems with the D35 on my setup (31's open) and with 33"s I dont think there would be much of a problem. The only thing I would worry about is the LSD, It shouldnt break anything but I would take it easy on the skinny pedal untill you upgrade.