2004 to 2008

Closest Installation

Fort Myer
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default 04 TJ questions

Ok I realize I will probably get a verbal beat down for asking this but I am new to the world of Jeeps so please forgive my ignorance.

A) What is the difference/advantage of sail cloth over a regular replacement top?

B) My TJ is going to be my DD & toy and I would like to give it a suspension lift and some new wheels/tires (33s). What lift should I look for that is reasonably priced that isn't the top of the line or a piece of $h!t. I am not looking to do extreme rock crawling or anything but I would like to take on some decent trail rides. Will I have to get new gears to run it properly?

C) What stuff should I do to the Jeep first to allow me to get out on the trail and not break to much expensive stuff? (Trying to do my upgrades on a single family income without sending the wife into a full blown freak out)

Thanks in advance for the advice/suggestions.

Brent

Branch
    Marine Corps
    Status
    Serving
    Served
    2005 to Present

Closest Installation

Camp Pendleton
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

3 inches of lift will let you clear 33's with no rubbing. if you want 32's, all you need to look in to is a budget boost. I have a full traction 3 inch economy lift which settles at 3.5 inches and is inexpensive and great. You won't need to regear or do anything for 33's. the only thing you need to do with 3 inches or more of lift is drop the t-case or get a SYE. other than that, you're golden.
    3rd Batallion 5th Marines
    Killing more people than aids since 1917

www.4x4corps.com

www.MilitaryFitnessForum.com

Branch
    Marine Corps
    Status
    Served
    Served
    1997 to 2005

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

a) cant help you with the tops