User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Harness upgrade H4

  1. #1
    RIF Dodger LGPP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    261

    Branch
    Navy
    Status
    Serving
    Served
    2008 to Present

    Closest Installation

    Naval Base San Diego
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Harness upgrade H4

    So I recently purchased this harness http://www.eautoworks.com/product-eA...com-189849.htm to go with new IPF housing and IPF Fatboy II 60/80w H4 bulbs.

    I was wondering if the harness itself can support those bulbs. Looks like the wiring is 16awg or 18awg.

    Thanks for the help. I've got to get these things running because I'm running blind right now.

  2. #2
    Administrator korisu56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ft Gordon
    Posts
    11,020

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Serving
    Served
    2003 to Present

    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Where the hell have you been? Haven't seen your funny ass avatar in a while

    Good luck with your part

  3. #3
    I am a chapter of one sincitycj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nv.
    Posts
    10,672

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Served
    Served
    1985 to 1989

    Closest Installation

    Nellis AFB
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LGPP View Post
    So I recently purchased this harness http://www.eautoworks.com/product-eA...com-189849.htm to go with new IPF housing and IPF Fatboy II 60/80w H4 bulbs.

    I was wondering if the harness itself can support those bulbs. Looks like the wiring is 16awg or 18awg.

    Thanks for the help. I've got to get these things running because I'm running blind right now.
    Those should work out fine, but I would recommend running some relays so that you don't burn out your switch. Here's a couple or good write ups on using them.
    http://go.jeep-xj.info/HowtoHeadlightLoom.htm

    http://www.danielsternlighting.com/t...ys/relays.html
    Quote Originally Posted by usnavymitchells View Post
    went to google to see if I too was a dumb ass!!! Well actually I am.

    http://www.sincityrubs.com/

  4. #4
    RIF Dodger LGPP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    261

    Branch
    Navy
    Status
    Serving
    Served
    2008 to Present

    Closest Installation

    Naval Base San Diego
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by korisu56 View Post
    Where the hell have you been? Haven't seen your funny ass avatar in a while

    Good luck with your part
    Navy OCS. Got my commission 16APR10.

    Quote Originally Posted by sincitycj View Post
    Those should work out fine, but I would recommend running some relays so that you don't burn out your switch. Here's a couple or good write ups on using them.
    http://go.jeep-xj.info/HowtoHeadlightLoom.htm

    http://www.danielsternlighting.com/t...ys/relays.html
    Are the relays this???



    If so it looks like the kit has two of them. It does not have inline fuses.

  5. #5
    I am a chapter of one sincitycj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nv.
    Posts
    10,672

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Served
    Served
    1985 to 1989

    Closest Installation

    Nellis AFB
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LGPP View Post
    Navy OCS. Got my commission 16APR10.



    Are the relays this???



    If so it looks like the kit has two of them. It does not have inline fuses.
    Yep, that be them. If you are wiring the new harness into the existing factory harness you shouldn't need any extra fuses. The ones in the fuse box will cover you.
    Quote Originally Posted by usnavymitchells View Post
    went to google to see if I too was a dumb ass!!! Well actually I am.

    http://www.sincityrubs.com/

  6. #6
    RIF Dodger LGPP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    261

    Branch
    Navy
    Status
    Serving
    Served
    2008 to Present

    Closest Installation

    Naval Base San Diego
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sincitycj View Post
    Yep, that be them. If you are wiring the new harness into the existing factory harness you shouldn't need any extra fuses. The ones in the fuse box will cover you.
    I think it's a straight up replacement of the harness. I'll have to figure it all out when I get the lights and bulbs. Hopefully it's not going to be too hard.

  7. #7
    Land Squid Jeffb_79's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,593

    Branch
    Navy
    Status
    Served
    Served
    1999 to 2010

    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If it's like the harness I used it's wired into the stock harness, connected to the battery, and plugged into the relays. Pretty straight forward.

  8. #8
    .JOATMON devildog4x4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sun Prairie
    Posts
    1,005

    Branch
    Marine Corps
    Status
    Retired
    Served
    1978 to 1998

    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    USMC

    Quote Originally Posted by LGPP View Post
    Navy OCS. Got my commission 16APR10.
    Congrats!


    Quote Originally Posted by LGPP View Post
    I'll have to figure it all out when I get the lights and bulbs. Hopefully it's not going to be too hard.
    OH S&^T! A "zero" thinking and doing electrical!
    Old enough to know better, too young to quit!

  9. #9
    I am a chapter of one sincitycj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nv.
    Posts
    10,672

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Served
    Served
    1985 to 1989

    Closest Installation

    Nellis AFB
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LGPP View Post
    I think it's a straight up replacement of the harness. I'll have to figure it all out when I get the lights and bulbs. Hopefully it's not going to be too hard.
    Should be a straight up replacement. It was when I did mine. I would also suggest doing independent grounds for each bulb.
    Quote Originally Posted by usnavymitchells View Post
    went to google to see if I too was a dumb ass!!! Well actually I am.

    http://www.sincityrubs.com/

  10. #10
    RIF Dodger LGPP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    261

    Branch
    Navy
    Status
    Serving
    Served
    2008 to Present

    Closest Installation

    Naval Base San Diego
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Did it today as well as putting in a CSF 3-Row Rad in. Everything is good to go. Going to go drive it tonight to make sure the lights are bright enough

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Get the MJ Supporter Membership for a little less than $0.06 a day and get more space, 2 MJ Stickers and no banners ads. [Check it out]