Closest Installation

AIRSTA Elizabeth City
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default D44 Axle help... and info

I'm a NEWB when it comes to axles...

I'm about to score some d44's front and rear from an early f150...

What am I going to have to do to put them under my Jeep???

The price is right for the axles so the project will begin!!!
    Well at least the collection for parts!!!

Branch
    Army
    Status
    Retired
    Served
    1991 to 2012

Closest Installation

Fort Carson
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I'm not a total guru when it comes to axle swaps, but a couple of things to think about.

Are you going to leave then full length? Are you going to get them shortened to fit? You will probably need to change out the gears for something more jeep worthy. If you decide to change the gears, you may have to change out the carriers unless you go with lockers. Then you will need to get all the brackets and have them welded on for the control arms, and spring perches. Make sure you find someone that knows how to weld them on, you don't want someone that thinks they can weld and end up going too deep in the axle housing. You may also want to think about diff skids, control arm skids, and general axle protection while doing the job. Like I said, just some things to think about. I'm sure there are many people here that know way more than me and have actually done swaps. I wanted to with my old jeep, but never had the money to go through with it.
    Sven
    Colorado Springs Chapter Calendar and News

'04 Wrangler Rubi, 5.5" Extreme Duty LA, 35" Goodyear Duratrac's, Warn RC 9.0 (Sold - My life sucks)

Branch
    Army
    Status
    Retired
    Served
    1967 to 1994

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)