User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: TPMS valve stems

  1. #1
    hmmmmm? Bluegoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fayetteville
    Posts
    72

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Serving
    Served
    1996 to Present

    Closest Installation

    Fort Bragg
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default TPMS valve stems

    Trying to swap out valve stems on my MT Signature Wheels and have been told that unless you run factory valve stems you will get the little tattle tale light. Any help?

  2. #2
    Got Beer airforce26yrs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    southeast michigan
    Posts
    4,182

    Branch
    Air Force
    Status
    Retired
    Served
    1965 to 1991

    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I believe that is correct. I read recently that all vehicles made after a certian date must have the TPMS installed. The system works off the valve stem somehow.

    Here is an article about them.

    http://www.aa1car.com/library/tire_monitors.htm

    My idea, if I ever get a new car, is to take all the sensors and put them in some kind of container that can be pressurized and sealed to hold the pressure and then install regular valve stems in the rims.
    I'm Mike, make sure you spell it right, because I do not want to get the wrong A$$hole in trouble.

    If you do not have time to do it right the first time, how do you have time do do it over?

    www.jeepforum.com michiganmaveric

  3. #3
    Free at last... ColoFreeJeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    5,721

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Served
    Served
    2004 to 2009

    Closest Installation

    Fort Carson
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This will tell you the history.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tire_pr...itoring_system

    Unfortunately, there's no easy way to defeat the system.

  4. #4
    MODERATOR warrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,810

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Retired
    Served
    1965 to 1968

    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes there is one way.
    Superchips model 3875. With it you can turn it off,Tune you Jeep,Calibrated your speedo,You can use Crawl Mode,
    Towing Mode,87 Tune Mode,93 Tune mode etc etc.
    And if you have to go service at the stealership,you can put everyting back to normal.(Stock)
    I have one and I gained 18 more hp with the 87 tune.
    For the auto trany you can adjust the shifting as well.
    If you don't give up---You will never fail.



    8th Combat Engineers (Sapper) (Vietnam 66)


  5. #5
    I am a chapter of one sincitycj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nv.
    Posts
    10,672

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Served
    Served
    1985 to 1989

    Closest Installation

    Nellis AFB
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Most of the time your stock TPMS stems will not work on aftermarket rims. Usually the shape of the lip where the stem will seat is different. Some of the aftermarket rim manufacturers make TPMS stems that will work on thier rims. You may also be able to use aftermarket TPMS sensors. Here's a link to some that may work. Check you owners manual or fsm to see if they can be programmed at home or if you have to take it in.
    Quote Originally Posted by usnavymitchells View Post
    went to google to see if I too was a dumb ass!!! Well actually I am.

    http://www.sincityrubs.com/

  6. #6
    Free at last... ColoFreeJeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    5,721

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Served
    Served
    2004 to 2009

    Closest Installation

    Fort Carson
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by warrior View Post
    Yes there is one way.
    Superchips model 3875. With it you can turn it off,Tune you Jeep,Calibrated your speedo,You can use Crawl Mode,
    Towing Mode,87 Tune Mode,93 Tune mode etc etc.
    And if you have to go service at the stealership,you can put everyting back to normal.(Stock)
    I have one and I gained 18 more hp with the 87 tune.
    For the auto trany you can adjust the shifting as well.
    That costs a pretty penny. Not easy means there's not a button or code on the vehicle you can push or enter yourself.

  7. #7
    MODERATOR warrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,810

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Retired
    Served
    1965 to 1968

    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ColoFreeJeeper View Post
    That costs a pretty penny. [COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]Not easy means there's not a button or code on the vehicle you can push or enter yourself[/COLOR].
    The superchips programer have buttons that you can push.
    First it save the stock codes in your computer(In case you need them again)
    Then you push the buttons and insert the superchips high performance codes.
    The performance is like day and night. If you sell the vehicle, you can returned to
    stock and keep the programer for another vehicle.
    Just in fuel saving along, The programer pays for it self.

    http://www.northridge4x4.com/proddet...rod=SCHIP-3875

    Note this model is for JK, But they have the same for other year and makes
    as well. The programer cost less than 5 TPMSensors.
    Last edited by warrior; 11-25-2010 at 12:33.
    If you don't give up---You will never fail.



    8th Combat Engineers (Sapper) (Vietnam 66)


  8. #8
    Hard Coal, Hard Core Dragline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    607

    Branch
    Air Force Reserves
    Status
    Retired
    Served
    1978 to 2000

    Closest Installation

    Fort Lee
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    X2 Superchips! Set it to Zero and forget it... Been running this for over a year, no light or ding...

  9. #9
    Free at last... ColoFreeJeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    5,721

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Served
    Served
    2004 to 2009

    Closest Installation

    Fort Carson
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    $340 is not easy. I know the thing has buttons. The vehicle does not have a solution to TPMS for free or low cost. BTW, TPMS sensors are $40 each at my company. Having been in this industry for 18 years, TPMS is a joke in my opinion. Just more government oversight that takes away responsibility from the owner and dumbs down people.

  10. #10
    Zombie Slayer... JoeySnow70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lawton
    Posts
    1,736

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Retired
    Served
    1997 to Present

    Closest Installation

    Fort Sill
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Cheap solution

    2 4"PVC Caps
    1 section of 4"PVC about 4" long(or long enough to fit all 4 TPMS and foam)
    1 shreader valve
    1 foam or wadding
    PVC primer/cement

    drill 1 cap and insert shreader valve
    prime PVC assamble 1 cap and pipe lenght
    insert foam and the TPMS valves in the PVC pipe
    cap off with second cap

    Allow to fully cure and fill pipe to manufacturer recomended tire pressure. The foam/wadding prevents TPMS from damage. Store somewer in the vehicle. If properlly primed and cemented the pipe will hold up to 120PSI....

    About $20 in parts

    Thanks to the brothers runing twentyfous for this one.....

    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Get the MJ Supporter Membership for a little less than $0.06 a day and get more space, 2 MJ Stickers and no banners ads. [Check it out]