1995 to Present

Closest Installation

Vilseck
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Can someone break it down for me Barny style

To start off I m not very mechanically inclined. I am new to the entire Jeep experience but wanting to jump in and get schooled up.

while I was home on R&R I bought a 2011 JK Rubicon with the 3.8L and I have got a few of the extras. 18" wheels 35" pro comp AT tires, 2.5" mopar lift, new front bumper, winch, nurf bars, extra lights and a few other small things.

I am in Afghan land right now so when I have free time I have been reading several threads here on MJ and most of the tech stuff is like reading Greek to me. I keep seeing people talking about the gear ratios and things.

this is where i need advice. Do I need to do anything to the gearing? What are some things I can do to get more power?
    Big D
    2010 Wrangler JK Rubicon
    HHB, FA SQDN, 2 CR
    Vilseck, Germany

Branch
    Air Force
    Status
    Serving
    Served
    2004 to Present

Closest Installation

Moody AFB
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

if im not mistaken, the jk rubis still have the 4:10 gears so you're alright with 35s. you might be better off with 4:56s but you'll be fine with what you have. i have 35s and 4:10s and dont have any issues really.
    2004 Rubi, Poison Spyder Bumper with Trail Stinger. Warn M8000 winch, Rock Krawler X-factor long arm 4 inch lift, 35x12.50x15 BFG KM2s on Procomp 8 inch steelies, Tom Woods Driveshaft, Poison Syder Full Roll Cage, Tuff Designs rear bumper/Tire carrier, MetalCloak Arched Tube Fenders with 6 Inch Flares, Flowmaster Hushpower Muffler, Vanco Big Disk Brake upgrade, Line-X'd tub and cage.

Branch
    Army
    Status
    Serving
    Served
    1995 to Present

Closest Installation

Vilseck
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)