User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: code P0700

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    colorado springs
    Posts
    4

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Serving
    Served
    2000 to Present

    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default code P0700

    can anyone help me with this problem? i have a 2007 grand cherokee and sometimes while driving all the gear selector lights will come on and i will have no response at all from the gas pedal. I can put it to the floor and the engine wont do anything. I looked it up on ASK and it came up with the code of P0700. If anyone can help with a fix or what the actual problem is i would greatly appreciate it.

  2. #2
    Wheelin requires wrenchin Doppler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    2,695

    Branch
    Air Force
    Status
    Retired
    Served
    1990 to 2010

    Closest Installation

    Tinker AFB
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I believe the WJ is the same as the ZJ for diagnostic codes. Someone correct me if I am wrong. To obtain your trouble codes you have to cycle the key on-off 3x and wait for the check engine light to flash the code for engine diagnostic codes. For transmission codes you cycle the key the same way, however, the overdrive light will flash the tranny fault codes instead of the check engine light. If your trouble code is correct then it is your output speed sensor that is giving you a false reading according to the DTC chart that I read. Not sure where it is located at on your Jeep exactly but should be somewhere around the tailshaft. Hopefully someone else can give you a more precise location.

  3. #3
    MODERATOR warrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,810

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Retired
    Served
    1965 to 1968

    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Go to your nearest AutoZone store, They will hook the diagnostic tool for free
    and tell you which code you have and what you need.

    PO700 IS AUTOMATIC TRANSAXLE SYSTEM MALFUNCTION

    Either losse wires or bad TCM.
    It will put your rig in "Limp Mode"
    Make sure your batt is good.(TBS/TCM don't operate good with low voltage)
    Good Luck.
    Last edited by warrior; 05-31-2011 at 23:08.
    If you don't give up---You will never fail.



    8th Combat Engineers (Sapper) (Vietnam 66)


  4. #4
    Got Beer airforce26yrs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    southeast michigan
    Posts
    4,182

    Branch
    Air Force
    Status
    Retired
    Served
    1965 to 1991

    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    In my WJ after you cycle the key the code is displayed in the odometer area, no flashing engine light, the actual code appears. Try going to wkjeeps.com (I think that is it) and they should have all the codes there with what is wrong and what to fix.

    Here is a link:

    http://www.wkjeeps.com/trouble_codes.htm
    I'm Mike, make sure you spell it right, because I do not want to get the wrong A$$hole in trouble.

    If you do not have time to do it right the first time, how do you have time do do it over?

    www.jeepforum.com michiganmaveric

  5. #5
    Senior Member HillBillE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Duluth, MN
    Posts
    13,934

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Served
    Served
    1985 to 1998

    Closest Installation

    Fort McCoy
    Mentioned
    68 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Here:

    P0700 (M) Check Transmission DTC's

    This code indicates that the EATX (Transmission controller) has an active fault and has illuminated the MIL via a BUS message. The specific fault must be acquired from the EATX via a DRBIII tool. (Input or Output Speed Sensor failures often cause this code and are a common failure part on WJ Grand Cherokees).


    As long as the people remain armed,
    government knows that it cannot rule over the people by force.
    Those who stand in defiance of unconstitutional laws
    do so out of duty, honor, oath and love of country.


    "Certified Jeep Junky!"


  6. #6
    Land Squid Jeffb_79's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,593

    Branch
    Navy
    Status
    Served
    Served
    1999 to 2010

    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If it's anything like the wranglers, you may need a different code reader to get the actual transmission code.
    P0700 is a generic code that appears when something in the TCM isn't within parameters. It could be a number of things from trans overheating, shift issues, etc. The last time I got this code, I ended up needing a new trans.

  7. #7
    Senior Member HillBillE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Duluth, MN
    Posts
    13,934

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Served
    Served
    1985 to 1998

    Closest Installation

    Fort McCoy
    Mentioned
    68 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeffb_79 View Post
    ......... you may need a different code reader to get the actual transmission code.
    P0700 is a generic code that appears when something in the TCM isn't within parameters. .
    Yep, he'll need a DRBlll tool to diagnose the Trans Control Module.

    My friend Kate had a P0740 code, torq conv not locking up properly. Just got done installing a 'new' trans into her Rubi.


    As long as the people remain armed,
    government knows that it cannot rule over the people by force.
    Those who stand in defiance of unconstitutional laws
    do so out of duty, honor, oath and love of country.


    "Certified Jeep Junky!"


  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    colorado springs
    Posts
    4

    Branch
    Army
    Status
    Serving
    Served
    2000 to Present

    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    well i have now found out that i have a diff code the actual code is U0404 Invalid Data Received From Gear Shift Ctrl Mod. does anyone have any idea how to fix it and about what the cost would be. also is this something that is easy to do or does it have to be done by a garage?

  9. #9
    Land Squid Jeffb_79's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,593

    Branch
    Navy
    Status
    Served
    Served
    1999 to 2010

    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    anything inside an auto tranny is going to be a pita.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Get the MJ Supporter Membership for a little less than $0.06 a day and get more space, 2 MJ Stickers and no banners ads. [Check it out]