Serving
    Served
    2001 to Present

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Someone school me on gears...

I know the basics you change gears based on your tire size essentially and what you need the vehicle to do.. And the higher the number on the gears the more times the driveshaft rotates to turn the wheel one time... OK thats where I end.. I know that if i wanna run anything higher than 33's on my JK since it is a DD that I will need at a minimum 4.10 but preferably higher... OK with that being said here is what i need to learn.. What do you need to do a gear swap? Where can you get em besides purchasing? IE: Donor vehicles? What to look for on used gears? What do you need to change em out? How do you change em? Is it easier to put a new rear end in? what kind of vehicles can those be gotten through? Do you need to change anything on the driveshafts? What do lockers do that regular 4x4 doesnt do? I know it makes me sound like a complete noob but in some areas I am and we all were at one point... Thanks
    2001-2005 Air Force Medic, 2005-2006 Navy Corpsman, 2007-Present Army Medic/Chaplains Asst.

The Cow Shall Rise Again theyeti1775's Avatar

Branch
    Marine Corps
    Status
    Served
    Served
    1993 to 1999

Closest Installation

Henderson Hall
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by medicbear View Post