Served
    Served
    1985 to 1992

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default No progress being made

I've been working on my Jeep for two years, but I haven't touched it in a while. SO, after four months of stepping over parts in my garage, I finally got enough initiative to drag my welder out and try to start replacing the bad steel in my tub. All the Camp MJ stories and pictures have me envious. I was pretty pleased with myself. I made a little progress, and the welds weren't looking too bad. I got the steel on the wheel wells done underneath the roll bar base. All was going well til I smelled smoke that was a little different. I lifted my hood and looked down at my feet. FIRE!!!

I caught my grass on fire, and it was spreading quickly. I was only about 8 feet from my hose reel, so I grabbed it and turned on the water.......nothing! I could hear it running though, so I started pulling out the hose just as fast as I could. A glance at the flames told me that even though the grass was green, it was DRY! Finally I found the hole that was spewing water at high pressure, and I aimed it at the flames and was able to get everything out....but not before burning a small part of the neighbors yard too.

I soaked the whole yard down and just stared in disbelief. Man, will I ever get this damn Jeep done? Florida summers are hot and miserable, and we really need rain. I didn't have it in me to do anything else to the Jeep, so I put it all back up in my garage and hoped that I wouldn't burn down my damn house. Who knows when it will ever get drug out again? Then I just sat there staring at the burnt spots and wondered what to say to the neighbor who is so meticulous about his yard.

This damn tub is holding me up. I need to get the pans finished so I can shoot primer and paint and start reassembly. It would sure be nice to have it done and meet up with y'all at Camp MJ 2010!