2007 to Present

Closest Installation

Fort Campbell
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Army Whats should i do first?

I just got a 2008 wrangler X. I'm new at this and I need some advice. I havent done anything to it yet, so i was going to get a set of tires but i need to know a good size to go with cause it is also my everyday driver. I was thinking 33" , I was also going to lift it, what would be a good 4" or do i need that much. I'm wanting something that makes my jeep look good and is off road ready when i want it to be but also affordable. THX

Branch
    Navy
    Status
    Served
    Served
    1999 to 2010

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

The JK models don't need much lift to fit 33" tires.
    There are a few 2.5" lifts out there that would work great. You could probably get 35" tires in there with a 2.5" lift, but if it's a daily driver I'd stick with 33" tires.

Things to start looking into.
    Armor - Engine, transmission/transfercase (tummy tuck), lower control arms, gas tank, and differential.
    Recovery gear - tow straps, tow points on the jeep, hi lift
    Tools - start purchasing all the common and not so common tools you'll need to pull the jeep apart. Good torx bit set, etc...

Branch
    Air Force
    Status
    Serving
    Served
    2003 to Present

Closest Installation

McGuire AFB
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by jason.huffman5 View Post
    I'm wanting something that makes my jeep look good and is off road ready when i want it to be but also affordable. THX
    This is one of the funniest things I have ever read

Just
    Empty
    Every
    Pocket

While that acronym is a common joke within the Jeep community, most of us have discovered that it's only funny because it's true.

On subject, what kind of wheelin do you plan on doing with your ride?

Oh, and congrats on getting a Jeep, it's the best hobby in the world.